Tune The Tech

Get a better understanding of your PC and improve your user experience.

Chat Room Acronyms And Their Meaning

 

Chat Room Acronyms And Their Meaning

404:  I haven’t a clue

ADN:  Any day now

AFAIK:  As far as I know

AFK:  Away from keyboard

ARE:  Acronym-rich environment

ASAP:  As soon as possible

A/S/L?:  Age/sex/location?

B4N:  Bye for now

BAK:  Back at the keyboard

BAS:  Big a** smile

BBIAB:  Be back in a bit

BBL:  Be back later

BBN:  Bye bye now

BBS:  Be back soon

BEG:  Big evil grin

BF:  Boy friend

BFD:  Big f***ing deal

BFN:  Bye for now

BG:  Big grin

BIBO:  Beer in, beer out

BIOYIOP:  Blow it out your I/O port

BL:  Belly laughing

BMGWL:  Busting my gut with laughter

BOTEC:  Back-of-the-envelope calculation

BRB:  Be right back

BTA:  But then again…

BTDT:  Been there, done that

BTW:  By the way

BWL:  Bursting with laughter

BWTHDIK:  But what the heck do I know…?

CICO:  Coffee in, coffee out

C&G:  Chuckle and grin

CNP:  Continued in next post

CRBT:  Crying real big tears

CU:  See you

CUL:  See you later

CUL8ER:  See you later

CYA:  See ya

CYA:  Cover your ass

CYO:  See you online

DBA:  Doing business as

DL:  Dead link

DLTBBB:  Don’t let the bed bugs bite

DIKU:  Do I know you?

DITYID:  Did I tell you I’m distressed?

DOM:  Dirty old man

DOS:  Dozing off soon

DQMOT:  Don’t quote me on this

DTRT:  Do the right thing

DWB:  Don’t write back

EG:  Evil grin

EMFBI:  Excuse me for butting in

EMSG:  E-mail message

EOM:  End of message

EOT:  End of thread (meaning: end of discussion)

ETLA:  Extended three-letter acronym (that is, an FLA)

F2F:  Face to face

FAQ:  Frequently-ask question(s)

FC:  Fingers crossed

FISH:  First in, still here

FLA:  Four-letter acronym

FMTYEWTK:  Far more than you ever wanted to know

FOMCL:  Falling off my chair laughing

FTBOMH:  From the bottom of my heart

FUBAR:  F***ed up beyond all repair or recognition

FUD:  Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt

FWIW:  For what it’s worth

FYI:  For your information

G:  Grin

GA:  Go ahead

GAL:  Get a life

GD&R:  Grinning, ducking, and running

GF:  Girlfriend

GFN:  Gone for now

GGP:  Gotta go pee

GIWIST:  Gee, I wish I’d said that

GL:  Good luck

GMAB:  Give me a break

GMTA:  Great minds think alike

GOL:  Giggling out loud

GTRM:  Going to read mail

GTSY:  Glad to see you

H&K:  Hug and kiss

HAGN:  Have a good night

HAND:  Have a nice day

HHIS:  Hanging head in shame

HIG:  How’s it going

HT:  Hi there

HTH:  Hope this helps

HUB:  Head up butt

IAC:  In any case

IAE:  In any event

IANAL:  I am not a lawyer (but)

IC:  I see

IGP:  I gotta pee

IHA:  I hate acronyms

IHU:  I hear you

IIRC:  If I recall/remember/recollect correctly

ILU or ILY:  I love you

IM:  Immediate message

IMCO:  In my considered opinion

IMHO:  In my humble opinion

IMing:  Chatting with someone online usually while doing other things such as playing trivia or other interactive game

IMNSHO:  In my not so humble opinion

IMO:  In my opinion

IMS:  I am sorry

IOW:  In other words

IPN:  I’m posting naked

IRL:  In real life (that is, when not chatting)

ITIGBS:  I think I’m going to be sick

IWALU:  I will always love you

IYSWIM:  If you see what I mean

J4G:  Just for grins

JBOD:  Just a bunch of disks (like redundant array of independent disks, etc.)

JIC:  Just in case

JK:  Just kidding

JMO:  Just my opinion

JTLYK:  Just to let you know

KISS:  Keep it simple stupid

KIT:  Keep in touch

KOTC:  Kiss on the cheek

KOTL:  Kiss on the lips

KWIM?:  Know what I mean?

L8R:  Later

L8R:  G8R Later gator

LD:  Later, dude

LDR:  Long-distance relationship

LHO:  Laughing head off

LLTA:  Lots and lots of thunderous applause

LMAO:  Laughing my a** off

LMSO:  Laughing my socks off

LOL:  Laughing out loud

LRF:  Little Rubber Feet (the little pads on the bottom of displays and other equipment)

LSHMBH:  Laughing so hard my belly hurts

LTM:  Laugh to myself

LTNS:  Long time no see

LTR:  Long-term relationship

LULAB:  Love you like a brother

LULAS:  Love you like a sister

LUWAMH:  Love you with all my heart

LY:  Love ya

LY4E:  Love ya forever

MorF:  Male or female

MOSS:  Member of the same sex

MOTOS:  Member of the opposite sex

MTF:  More to follow

MUSM:  Miss you so much

NADT:  Not a darn thing

NFG:  No f*****g good

NFW:  No feasible way or no f*****g way

NIFOC:  Naked in front of computer

NP or N/P:  No problem

NRN:  No response necessary

OIC:  Oh, I see

OLL:  Online love

OMG:  Oh my God

OTF:  Off the floor

OTOH:  On the other hand

OTTOMH:  Off the top of my head

PANS:  Pretty awesome new stuff (as opposed to “POTS”)

PAW:  Parents are watching

PCMCIA:  People can’t master computer industry acronyms

PDA:  Public display of affection

PEBCAK:  Problem exists between chair and keyboard

PIBKAC:  Problem is between keyboard and chair

PITA:  Pain in the ass

PM:  Private message

PMFJIB:  Pardon me for jumping in but…

POAHF:  Put on a happy face

::POOF::  Goodbye (leaving the room)

POTS:  Plain old telephone service

PU:  That stinks!

QT:  Cutie

RL:  Real life (that is, when not chatting)

ROR:  Raffing out roud (Engrish for “laughing out loud”)

ROTFL:  Rolling on the floor laughing

ROTFLMAO:  Rolling on the floor laughing my a** off

ROTFLMAOWPIMP:  Rolling on the floor laughing my a** off while peeing in my pants

ROTFLMBO:  Rolling on the floor laughing my butt off

RPG:  Role-playing games

RSN:  Real soon now

RT:  Real time

RTFM:  Read the f***ing manual

RYO:  Roll your own (write your own program; derived from cigarettes rolled yourself with tobacco and paper)

S^:  S’up – what’s up

S4L:  Spam for life (what you may get when you become someone’s customer or client)

SHCOON:  Shoot hot coffee out of nose

SEG:  S***-eating grin

SETE:  Smiling ear to ear

SF:  Surfer-friendly (low-graphics Web site)

SHID:  Slaps head in disgust

SNAFU:  Situation normal, all f***ed up

SO:  Significant other

SOL:  Smiling out loud or sh*t out of luck

SOMY:  Sick of me yet?

SOT:  Short on time

SOTMG:  Short on time must go

STFW:  Search the f*****g Web

STW:  Search the Web

SU:  Shut up

SUAKM:  Shut up and kiss me

SUP:  What’s up

SWAG:  Stupid wild-a** guess

SWAK:  Sealed with a kiss

SWL:  Screaming with laughter

SYS:  See you soon

TA:  Thanks again

TAFN:  That’s all for now

TANSTAAFL:  There ain’t no such thing as a free lunch

TCOY:  Take care of yourself

TFH:  Thread from hell (a discussion that just won’t die and is often irrelevant to the purpose of the forum or group)

TGIF:  Thank God it’s Friday

THX:  Thanks

TIA:  Thanks in advance (used if you post a question and are expecting a helpful reply)

TILII:  Tell it like it is

TLA:  Three-letter acronym

TLK2UL8R:  Talk to you later

TMI:  Too much information

TNT:  Till next time

TOPCA:  Til our paths cross again (early Celtic chat term)

TOY:  Thinking of you

TPTB:  The powers that be

TTFN:  Ta-Ta for now

TTT:  Thought that, too (when someone types in what you were about to type)

TTYL:  Talk to you later

TU:  Thank you

TY:  Thank you

UAPITA:  You’re a pain in the ass

UW:  You’re welcome

VBG:  Very big grin

VBSEG:  Very big s***-eating grin

WAG:  Wild a** guess

WAYD:  What are you doing

WB:  Welcome back

WBS:  Write back soon

WDALYB:  Who died and left you boss?

WDALYIC:  Who died and left you in charge?

WEG:  Wicked evil grin

WFM:  Works for me

WIBNI:  Wouldn’t it be nice if

WT?:  What/who the ?

WTFO:  What the F***! Over!

WTG:  Way to go!

WTGP?:  Want to go private?

WU?:  What’s up?

WUF?:  Where are you from?

WYSIWYG:  What you see is what you get

YBS:  You’ll be sorry

YGBSM:  You gotta be s***tin’ me!

YMMV:  Your mileage may vary

YW:  You’re welcome

 

Filed under: Facebook

Leave a Reply

Tune The Translator

Website Translation Widget
Tune The Tech


Technology... the knack of so arranging the world that we don't have to experience it.
Tune The Tech

Visitor Stats

  • 11,078 Views

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

December 2011
S S M T W T F
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tutorials and Reference Manuals

Educate Yourself Beginners & Experts

Learn to Create Websites
Review https://infotune.wordpress.com on alexa.com

Copyright

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Tool © All Rights Reserved - Any content reblogged from infotune.wordoress.com must adhere to the terms of © Copyright

Site meter

VISITOR STATS

